There are many reasons for which you may want to stop receiving messages from new students. For example, you are heading back to school and don't have any extra time to tutor on the side, you are already fully booked with students and can't take any more, or you may be going away and do not wish to tutor during this time.
You are able to hide your profile from the view of new students with an easy switch.
Click on your profile picture in the top right corner and a drop-down menu like the one above will appear. To hide your profile from the view of the students, simply slide the option above to 'Hide Profile', and when you want to be active slide over to 'Visible'.